Quilting = Happiness

I love to sew.

If you know me, you know this fact and it’s very old news! I learned to sew clothing for my daughter, out of necessity really, but now it’s just plain fun. One problem that I have encountered is that my daughter simply has too much. I don’t NEED to make her yet another dress. However, I still have the burning desire to CREATE – I NEED to be creative. As a natural progression of things it seems, I’m turning into my grandmother – and I’m quilting. My father’s exact quote to me a few days ago, “You’re turning into my mother.” I never met my father’s mother. She died a few years before I was born. She canned, farmed, sewed clothing, quilts – sounding familiar? Maybe she had a talk with me before coming to this earth and encouraged me to continue her work, preserve a dying art. Maybe a bit of her is living inside me. I can’t help but picture her smiling from above. This is one of her quilts – with my dad’s hand print at age 4. It is a precious possession. Here’s my first attempt at quilting – not perfect but you have to start somewhere. I already have ideas for more in the works. Quilts make me happy! My babies will be warm and cozy this winter!

4 responses to “Quilting = Happiness

  1. That's awesome!I have a lot of quilts, but haven't made many of them. Many were made by either of my grandmothers. My mil made a few and so did my mom. I have a two that Mom helped me make, but really, she did most of it. Tops were machine stitched, but they were quilted by hand. Wow, what an undertaking!

  2. I can't wait to sew. Right now, on our little farm, I am too busy with *work, school, home-schooling and keeping up with basic chores to sew but that time is a-coming. Love the history of your grandmother; and yes – genetics are more than just science, this is REAL! She is in you. Beautiful quilt, I'm glad I found your blog (via facebook page, from Funky Feather Farm….oh, the travels of the internet.)Be well!farmhousewife

  3. I can't wait to sew. Right now, on our little farm, I am too busy with *work, school, home-schooling and keeping up with basic chores to sew but that time is a-coming. Love the history of your grandmother; and yes – genetics are more than just science, this is REAL! She is in you. Beautiful quilt, I'm glad I found your blog (via facebook page, from Funky Feather Farm….oh, the travels of the internet.)Be well!farmhousewife

  4. Gwen, I bet you still remember the time you spent quilting with your mom! My mom and i are going to have to do that soon!!!Farmhouse Wife: Thanks so much for your kind words. You are so busy! You may have to quilt instead of sleep!! So glad you found me!

Leave a Reply

